https://chessendgames.net/

P-58

  If the white distant passed pawn were shifted one rank back, a very different position would arise! White wins since after eliminating the black distant passed pawn Black’s king will not be able to control the key-square b7 in time.   For all similar positions a universal rule holds: White always wins provided his […]

Continue Reading

P-123A

  If the black king is active and has reached at least the fifth rank, the position is drawn whoever has the move. This was demonstrated by G. Lolli as far back as 1763. Black to move draws very easily by not allowing the white king to penetrate to the front of its pawns.

Continue Reading

P-121B

  It is interesting to note that White to move cannot win, since in order to regain the opposition and occupy the square h6 White will have to waste one reserve tempo by the g-pawn. As a result, the pawn would lose the flexibility of the first move enabling the black king to act accordingly. […]

Continue Reading

P-121A

  On the basis of the conclusions reached from the positions in diagrams 119 and 120 respectively, it can be easily demonstrated that in a similar position Black to move loses only if White has got one pawn on its initial position. Black to move loses due to the flexibility of the opponent’s pawn structure. […]

Continue Reading