Q-192

  Given that in the standard position with the rook’s pawn on the third rank, Black always draws, regardless of the position of the king, it is logical that the same rule would apply to position with pawn on the second rank! We will look at the situation with the king on a7, and Black […]

Continue Reading

Q-191

  When the pawn is in the initial position of the g-file, in the standard diagonal-pin position, Black always draws, except when his king is in the extremely poor position on f2. Even when the black king is in the furthest position on a8, White on the move can’t win!

Continue Reading

Q-187

  In position with e-pawn on the second rank, winning chances are minimal because the black king usually manages to penetrate to front of the pawn. In case of a diagonal pin, White to move wins only when the black king is on the first rank or on square h3. The Kh1 and Kh3 cases […]

Continue Reading

Q-184

  In the standard position with the diagonal pin of the pawn g3 White wins only if the black king is inside the square a6-c6-c8 or on the square d8. The reason is that it can prevent him from escaping through the fifth rank, that is, stopping him to penetrate to front of a pawn. […]

Continue Reading